Back to Previous Page

7 Lobster Zone Councils Meetings - May. 29, 2019

DMR will hold meetings with the 7 Lobster Zone Councils to facilitate the development of a plan that meets targets established by the Atlantic Large Whale Take Reduction Team (TRT) for right whale protection.

The measures put forward by the TRT are driven by federal laws designed to protect whales ā€“ the Endangered Species Act (ESA) and the Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA).  Because of the current status of right whales, the ESA and the MMPA require action, and action will be taken by NOAA if Maine fails to come up with a plan that meets their goal.

As a reminder, the TRT has recommended broad measures for Maine that include removing 50 percent of vertical lines from the Gulf of Maine and the use of a weak rope topper.

Iā€™m committed to working with industry to guide the development of a plan to present to the National Marine Fisheries Service that is informed by your unique knowledge and insight.  We will present proposals for your consideration that come from an analysis of vertical line data and fishing practices along the coast.

For this process to work, your input is critical.

All Lobster Zone Council Meetings are scheduled for 6:00 p.m.
Meeting dates are as follows:

    Zone A:   Tuesday, June 18, Washington Academy (Gym), 66 Cutler Road, East Machias
    Zone B:   Tuesday, June 4, Trenton Elementary School (Gym), 51 School Road, Trenton
    Zone C:   Thursday, June 6, Deer Isle-Stonington Elementary School (Reach Performing Arts Center), 249 N.
    Deer Isle Road, Deer Isle
    Zone D:   Thursday, June 20, Camden Hills Regional High School (Gym), 25 Keelson Drive, Rockport
    Zone E:   Thursday, June 13, Wiscasset Middle High School (Gym), 272 Gardiner Road, Wiscasset
    Zone F:   Thursday, June 27, Freeport High School (Freeport Performing Arts Center ā€“ use that entrance), 30 Holbrook Street, Freeport
    Zone G:   Monday, June 10, Kennebunk High School (Auditorium), 89 Fletcher Street, Kennebunk

Patrick C. Keliher
Maine Department of Marine Resources